How many countries are there in south america?

HotbotBy HotBotUpdated: July 8, 2024

Introduction to South America

South America, a continent rich in cultural diversity, natural beauty, and historical significance, is home to a number of countries, each with its unique identity. Understanding the number of countries in this continent and exploring their individual characteristics can provide a deeper appreciation of South America's role in the global mosaic.

Number of Countries in South America

South America comprises 12 sovereign countries. These nations vary in size, population, and economic power, but together they form a vibrant and dynamic continent. The countries are:

1. Argentina

2. Bolivia

3. Brazil

4. Chile

5. Colombia

6. Ecuador

7. Guyana

8. Paraguay

9. Peru

10. Suriname

11. Uruguay

12. Venezuela

Detailed Overview of Each Country


Argentina is the second-largest country in South America by both area and population. Known for its passionate tango dance, delicious cuisine like empanadas and asado, and stunning landscapes such as Patagonia and the Andes, Argentina is a cultural powerhouse.


Bolivia is a landlocked country known for its rich indigenous cultures and dramatic topography. It hosts part of the Amazon rainforest and the ethereal Salar de Uyuni, the world's largest salt flat, an iconic natural wonder.


The largest country in South America, Brazil is famous for its Amazon Rainforest, the vibrant city of Rio de Janeiro, and Carnival. As the fifth-largest country in the world by both area and population, Brazil is a key player on the global stage.


Chile is a long, narrow country stretching along the western edge of South America. It encompasses a variety of climates and landscapes, from the Atacama Desert in the north to the glaciers of Patagonia in the south. Santiago, its capital, is a modern metropolis with a rich history.


Colombia, located in the northwest of the continent, is known for its coffee, emeralds, and diverse landscapes, including the Andes mountains, Amazon rainforest, and Caribbean and Pacific coastlines. Bogotá, its capital, is a bustling city with a blend of colonial and modern architecture.


Ecuador, though small, boasts incredible biodiversity and is home to the Galápagos Islands, where Charles Darwin developed his theory of evolution. The country also features the Andes mountains and part of the Amazon basin.


Guyana, located on the northern mainland of South America, is culturally connected with the English-speaking Caribbean. It is known for its dense rainforests, wildlife, and the stunning Kaieteur Falls.


Paraguay is a landlocked country in the heart of South America. It is known for its subtropical forests, Chaco region, and cultural traditions such as the Guarani language, spoken by the majority of the population.


Peru is famous for its archaeological sites, including the iconic Machu Picchu, a symbol of the Inca Empire. The country features diverse landscapes from the Amazon rainforest to the Andes mountains and extensive coastline.


Suriname, the smallest country in South America, is known for its tropical rainforests, Dutch colonial architecture, and multicultural society. The capital, Paramaribo, is a UNESCO World Heritage site.


Uruguay, a small country nestled between Brazil and Argentina, is known for its beach-lined coast, colonial towns, and a high standard of living. Montevideo, its capital, is a vibrant city with a rich cultural heritage.


Venezuela is noted for its vast natural beauty, including Angel Falls, the world's highest waterfall. Despite its current economic challenges, Venezuela remains a country with a rich cultural history and significant natural resources.

Dependencies and Territories

In addition to the 12 sovereign countries, South America is also home to several territories and dependencies. These include:

- French Guiana: An overseas department of France located on the northeastern coast. It is known for its spaceport, the Guiana Space Centre, and the dense Amazon rainforest.

- Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas): A British Overseas Territory in the South Atlantic Ocean, the sovereignty of which is disputed by Argentina.

- South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands: Another British Overseas Territory, located in the southern Atlantic Ocean, these islands are known for their remote and rugged landscapes.

Cultural and Geopolitical Landscape

The cultural and geopolitical landscape of South America is as diverse as its countries. The continent has seen a mixture of indigenous traditions and colonial influences, which have shaped its current identity. From the Andean civilizations to European conquests, and the subsequent waves of immigration, South America’s history is complex and multifaceted.

Economic and Environmental Context

Economically, South America is diverse, with countries like Brazil and Argentina being regional powerhouses, while others like Bolivia and Guyana are developing nations. The continent is rich in natural resources, including minerals, oil, and biodiversity, but faces challenges such as deforestation, climate change, and economic inequality.

Understanding the number of countries in South America and appreciating their individual characteristics offers a glimpse into a continent that is as diverse as it is unified. Each country contributes to the rich tapestry that is South America, a place where history, culture, and nature intertwine seamlessly.

Related Questions

How many countries are in south america?

South America is a diverse continent known for its rich culture, history, and geography. It is bordered by the Pacific Ocean to the west, the Atlantic Ocean to the east, North America and the Caribbean Sea to the northwest, and Antarctica to the south. It is the fourth largest continent by area and the fifth most populous, offering an intriguing mix of urban sophistication, ancient civilizations, and natural wonders.

Ask Hotbot: How many countries are in south america?

How many countries in south america?

South America is a vibrant continent located in the Western Hemisphere, primarily in the Southern Hemisphere. Known for its diverse cultures, ecosystems, and historical significance, South America is a fascinating subject for study. One of the basic questions often asked about this continent is the number of countries it includes.

Ask Hotbot: How many countries in south america?

Where is south america?

South America is a continent situated in the Western Hemisphere, predominantly in the Southern Hemisphere, with a relatively small portion in the Northern Hemisphere. It is bordered by the Caribbean Sea to the northwest and north, the Atlantic Ocean to the northeast, east, and southeast, and the Pacific Ocean to the west. The continent is connected to North America through the Isthmus of Panama, a narrow strip of land that acts as a bridge between the two continents.

Ask Hotbot: Where is south america?

What countries are in south america?

South America, a continent rich in cultural heritage, natural wonders, and historical significance, consists of 12 sovereign nations. This vast landmass, stretching from the Caribbean Sea in the north to the icy realms of Antarctica in the south, offers a diverse tapestry of languages, landscapes, and traditions. Understanding the countries within South America provides insight into the continent's complex identity and its global contributions.

Ask Hotbot: What countries are in south america?